pH Value in quarantine tank
  • ChicoChico May 2011
    Hi, all.

I am a newbie in koi keeping. Just joined this forum recently...

May I know is the pH value important in the quarantine tank ?

Cheers
    mc
  • AnuarAnuar May 2011
    Bro MC,

Coincidently I just went through this phase. Lost 7-8 pcs of kois in my qt, I had initially thought that it was due to the sickness that they carried along to the qt and/or the water parameters, but wasn't sure which one.

Only recently I added an external filter to add on to the existing filter for the qt, the water became odorless and the clarity improved significantly and coincidently I had also recently bought a digital ph tester. To my horror, the ph read 5.0. Which explained the death previously or it could be some combinations.

I had since added some oyster shells and added 50gm of baking soda to my 400+ liter qt, the ph read 7.5 and remained at 7.5 a week later.

In short, ph is very very important. I regret for having neglected this parameter for the past 3 yrs.

• ChicoChico May 2011
    Bro Anuar,

Thanks for sharing your experience with me. It does help lots. I think I have to add some baking soda to my qt tomorrow.

I was actually thinking pH value was only important in main pond as qt is small and the kois will only stay in qt for a short while.

About bringing up the pH in water, 50gm to 400+ litre qt, is it a standard measurement ?

Bro Anuar, sorry that I have used a username which is misleading, I am not a gentleman.. :)

Cheers
    Mabel
    Post edited by Chico at 2011-05-06 05:27:37 pm
  • ChicoChico May 2011
    Bro Anuar,

Feel sorry for your lost... :-(

Mabel
  • JamesJames May 2011
    Bro anuar, how on earth did the ph get so low? No water change or was it the rain??
  • ChicoChico May 2011
    Bro James,

If rainning, does water change alone can solve the low pH problem ?

• ChengAunChengAun May 2011
    hi Mabel. are you the Chico that commented on Paul Hooi's youtube page?