Malachite Green
  • ShukriShukri March 2011
    Since I have not contributed to the Forum in a while, so here goes........ There are friends in the koi keeping hobby that have asked me to start this (i.e. koi medication), so this is my first attempt.

Scientific name is Malachite Green and the color is kaki green.
    Formula: [C6H5C(C6H4N(CH3)2)2]Cl and is not related to Malachite Cu2(CO3)(OH)2 (found in nature)
    It is a chloride salt.

Potential Health Effects
    Eye: May cause severe eye irritation. This product contains a cationic dye. Similar dyes have caused permanent injury to the cornea and conjunctiva in documented exposure cases with human or rabbit eyes.
    Skin: May cause skin irritation. May be harmful if absorbed through the skin.
    Ingestion: Harmful if swallowed. May cause gastrointestinal irritation with nausea, vomiting and diarrhea.
    Inhalation: Dust is irritating to the respiratory tract. May be harmful if inhaled.
    Chronic: Possible risk of harm to the unborn child.

Malachite green (MG) is a synthetic dye used to colour silk, wool, jute, leather, cotton and paper. The name comes from the similarity of colour of malachite green to the mineral, malachite.

Malachite green has traditionally been used to treat fungal infections on fish and their eggs.

It is not usually used to treat bacterial diseases. But the bacteria Flavobacterium columnare is sensitive to this dye.
    It is a potent chemical dye and is often used as a 1% solution (typically use 1g of powder dissolved in 100ml of distilled water) and then dapped directly onto the infected area of the fish with a cotton bud daily until the infection is healed. Or a bath is made and the fish dipped into it for a time.

This dye's effectiveness is reduced by light, therefore during treatment turn the tank lights off.
    Note: This chemical is harmful to humans!