Tancho sugery
  • phillipslyphillipsly May 2013
    H I'm a newbie to the forum, Been keeping koi in UK for over 15yrs and in Phuket for 18months (nice and warm here!!!)

I saw a post about a Tancho Kohaku of Jame that had gone through the Tancho surgery. I have a similar tosai Kohaku Tancho in need of the same! Can anyone please tell me how and who performed the procedure. I'd like to know how deep the cut is on the head, is it more of a scrape than a cut etc? Can it be performed by a competant person or a trained Tancho-circlist type person etc.

Cheers to all.

Lyndon.
    Attachments
    P1030287.jpg 175K
  • ShukriShukri May 2013
    Phillip, welcome to the Koianswers Forum........

Hi James, where are you?
    In Koianswers Forum, no one individual is above the rest. This is the Forum for the Koi Community.
  • ShukriShukri May 2013
    Phillip,
    Personally I have done a few of these myself. Most importantly, upfront, you have to know the shape and the eventual Tancho spot that you want. You can do a deep cut at the areas that do not have scales, and need to be extra careful in the area that have scales....... Once done, you have to apply TOPICAL medication to the cut area. You have to have steady hands..........
    In Koianswers Forum, no one individual is above the rest. This is the Forum for the Koi Community.
    Post edited by Shukri at 2013-05-27 04:32:44 pm
  • BthineshkumarBthineshkumar May 2013
    But the beni already touching the shoulder. These type of beni difficult to do cosmetics right?
    Never done one on my own yet, I think I'll do it very soon ;-)
  • JamesJames May 2013
    Here bro Shukri.... :-))

Lyndon, I think u need several procedures. I would first remove the beni on the head to make it round and separate the beni at the shoulder from the head. Then I would just remove the shoulder beni a row at a time. Max of 3 scales perhaps. Let her heal and do the rest after.
  • lautslauts May 2013
    Bros,