Koi Appreciation in the eyes of Koi Competition Judge and Hobbyist
  • ykyapykyap October 2012
    koianswers.com/discussion/download/9956/Shusui-3.JPG
    In the recent concluded 2012 Wakagoi, there were 5 shusui entered for this 38bu category. Few hobbyists were asked and were shown to this batch of 5 shusuis and none of the hobbyists predicted that this koi will win any placing.

However, when the final results were announced, this shusui won 2nd placing. I am now puzzled and confused as why there is a distinct appreciation standard in the eyes of the judges and hobbyist.

My questions is:
    1) What do judges look for in this shusui?
    2) What are the demerit of this shusui that it only qualified for 2nd placing.

I hope seasoned koi competition participant or koi sifus can enlighten and educate me on koi appreciation or whether there is a separate standard in koi appreciation in competition. I am a new koi hobbyist and hope to tap koi sifus knowledge and experience and to apply it when buying new koi.

Thanks
    YKYap
    Attachments
    Shusui-3.JPG 157K
  • HDCuHDCu October 2012
    I think for the better understanding and fair comment of others, all the five shusui pictures and their respective sizes be posted for evaluation and comparison.
  • JamesJames October 2012
    A koi can lose to another because there is better or there are qualities that the judges do not appreciate or flaws that are more severe to one judge from another. To beat this shusui, the other should have moto aka, less messy stray zip and whiter head. Probably some beni in the eye, dorsal and tail too.
  • megatronmegatron October 2012
    Perhaps, Let's view at the first prize winning Shusui for opinion.

koianswers.com/discussion/download/9960/38Bu 1st Prize Shusui.jpg
    Don't ask me why!!!
  • ShukriShukri October 2012
    Dear ykyap,