Badly bruised Shusui...looks like no hope :(
  • kolampkolamp August 2012
    Hi all & not too late to wish Selamat hari raya Aidilfitri...

I'm new to this koi keeping & need your kind help & guidance for my badly bruised shusui...story like this, on recent raya holidays, came back from home town & saw my house was dark & quiet & stinking smell everywhere... found out the whole house was trip...switch on the ELCB back & thought the whole pond was goner :(.....but surprisingly I saw a shusui staying quietly & still alive! pull out all the carcass & clean the pond & did major water change and salted the pond 0.3%....

few days later, the shusui was swimming normally & I decided to get a companion for her....went out to buy a kohaku & showa but when I arrive at my house, I saw the shusui was laying flat on my car porch full of ants! I dunno how long its been there & sadly pick up the badly bruised fish....then, I noticed the mouth moves a bit & I quickly return it into the pond and after few minutes, the fish is swimming again! I quarantine the fish but the health became worst...the skin shredded & most of the fins rots & looks like dying....fear the worst is coming & with my limited knowledge, I released back the fish into main pond few days ago & now she's swimming OK with the new companions...

So now, my q's is:
    1. should I catch back the fish and treat it in QT?
    2. What exactly medication should I use to treat this koi?
    3. is there any possibilities that the wound can get infected & affect other fishes?
    4. Is Kenkona suitable to treat this kind of cases?
    5. If I put the companion together in QT, will the medication affect the healthy koi?

Sorry too long stories for you guys to read just hoping that opinions & advise from this helpful forum will save my lovely shusui

I'll try to get some pics this weekend if she's still alive :)

Thank you very much
  • ShukriShukri August 2012
    Kolamp,
    Welcome to the Koianswers Forum.