Comment on koi acquisition
  • SsmannSsmann August 2012
    Hello friends,

All comments welcome. Newly acquired. This is my 1st step into pure bred Nishikigoi category. From a nice guy who is helping me out getting into the hobby, tq! My photography skills on my blackberry do not do much justice...sorry

www.koianswers.com/discussion/download/8869/kohakushowa.jpg
    www.koianswers.com/discussion/download/8870/kohakushowa1.jpg
    www.koianswers.com/discussion/download/8871/kohakushowa2.jpg

Can anyone also advise me what is this insect, white in colour very small like an ant, that was found living in my BH when i cleaned out my filter yesterday. There are thousands of these little creatures...all cleaned now, but wonder what it is???

www.koianswers.com/discussion/download/8872/insect in pond.jpg
    Post edited by Ssmann at 2012-08-16 10:30:38 am
  • niveknivek August 2012
    Good that you started this thread as I'm a newbie too. I love the showa! :)
  • kwchankwchan August 2012
    I think for kohaku, the head is too 'bald', it would be nicer if with some hi on it.
    thanks bro kwchan....i wished i could paint some Hi on it.....hehehehe...if it was that simple huh????
    thanks bro Nivek...no probs...we all learn together
  • idrisidris August 2012
    Nice koi bro...but then again it is best you identified what is your objective in koi keeping.

1. satisfied with pond grade koi
    2. want to have show grade koi and enter koi show or
    3. want to have show grade koi and enjoy it yourself...

This will help you on selecting koi..
    Thanks bro Idris. Definitely 3, ie no shows for me (i doubt my interest in this hobby will ever get me to bag a koi to a show, will take alot bro), just want to see nice beautiful and elegant koi when I get home after a hard days work. Reasonably priced koi, that may not have the perfect 10/10, but with good genes to help me appreciate its beauty. That's my objective....tq bro!